Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Getting started with investing, stocks, bonds etc  (Read 956 times)

toney

• Team of the Century
Getting started with investing, stocks, bonds etc
« on: February 22, 2006, 03:39:12 AM »

I am a novice in this. I do know the very basics of stocks and bonds. But is there someone who can give me a head start on this? I am a conservative person with money, so most of my plans are of the safer kind, for long term benefits. But I want to get a hang of things.
I know that some patience is required to learn more. I bought the acclaimed The Intelligent Investor by Benjamin Graham but the size of the book as well as the small font discourage me from spending more time with it. Is that book a good start?
I know Ravi and Tombaan have made careers in accounting, finance etc. And there are some of you who are the serious investor kind too. PLease shed some light on this.
When intelligence matures and lodges securely in the mind it becomes wisdom. When wisdom is integrated with life and becomes action it becomes Bhakti. Knowledge when it becomes fully mature is Bhakti. To believe that Jnana and Bhakti, knowledge & devotion, are different from each other is ignorance.

tombaan

• World XI Star
Re: Getting started with investing, stocks, bonds etc
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2006, 12:34:22 AM »

best way for a novice to do is go mutual funds than waste money in stocks......go to a mutual fund website like say www.fidelity.com
they have funds listed by types with ratings by independent agency and track record which is easy to follow.....morning star ratings of 4 and 5 are stocks with good track records....look at their 3 5 and 10 year performance....this looks complicated login and it is very to do it...........let me know if i can help

toney

• Team of the Century
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2006, 04:52:57 PM »